Change the world

InnoVenton and The Downstream Chemicals Technology Station


InnoVenton congratulates all 2018 Chemical Process Technology and Formulation Science Graduates who have succesfully obtained their qualifications at the April Ceremony.

InnoVenton and the Nelson Mandela University celebrate the success of the third class of Chemical Process Technology students to graduate with diplomas at the ceremonies held in April.  This diploma program was developed to meet critical scare-skills in the South African chemical processing industry. 

Of the 27 Diplomats receiving their diplomas this week, 8 graduated with Cum Laude. (Ntandokazi Bulu, Asanda Dlabom, Nosibusiso Jokani, Sibahle Kondlo, Thembela Kwini, Refiloe Molao,  Michael Muller and Asavela Nkqayi). These diplomats have already found employment in the industry, which includes gas and oil production and refining, metal processing and the production of many industrial and household products.

All the graduates received bursaries for their studies and in-service training, from AECI, BASF, Umicore SA, Heraeus and CHIETA. There are currently 60 students in the program, now hosted by the Chemistry department in partnership with InnoVenton.

The Bachelor of Science Honours in Formulation Science program had 4 students complete their studies.  This program was developed to train chemical formulators who can improve on and design new chemical formulas for a multitude of products.  One such student, Siyabonga Shoba graduated Cum Laude - Congratulations!

Two students affiliated with InnoVenton were recipients of the Chemistry departments Excellence Awards in 2018.  They were Miss Nosisbusiso Jokani and Mr Siyabonga Shoba.  (See the pictures below.)

InnoVenton is also proud of Mrs Martha L. Postma-Botha, who completed a Degree of Doctor Philosophy (Chemistry), her thesis was titled:  “The extraction, quantification and application of high-value biological compounds from olive oil processing waste.” Dr Postma Botha’s promoter was Dr Nicole Vorster.  


Above: The AECI sponsored National Diploma: Chemical Process Technology students, along with their programme co-ordinator Dr Shawn Gouws (left), including (from left) Mr Bongani Pongola, Miss Asevela Nkqayi, Mr Chai Konaiti ,Miss Sibahle Kondlo, Mr Sabelo Madalose, Mr Stephen Foster, Miss Refiloe Molao, Mr Charles Ready, and Mr Richard Lange.

Above:  The Bachelor of Science Honours in Formulation Science students, Mr Harold Rupapa, Miss Sandiso Ngwenya, Dr Nicole Vorster (Programme co-ordinator), Mr Siyabonga Shoba and in absence Ms Zizipho Ngayeka

Above:  The Chemistry Department Excellence Award recipient Miss Nosibusiso Jokani (left) for her academic performance in the National Diploma: Chemical Process Technology.  The programme co-ordinator Dr Shawn Gouws (centre) and the Head of Department Prof Zenixolo Tshentu (right)

Above:  The Chemistry Department Excellence Award recipient Mr Siyabonga Shoba (left) for his academic performance in the Bachelor of Science Honours in Formulation Science. The programme co-ordinator Dr Nicole Vorster (centre) and the Head of Department Prof Zenixolo Tshentu (right)

Above: Dr Nicole Vorster and Dr Martha L. Postma-Botha. 


Back row (left to right) :Mr Michael Muller, Mr Chai Konaite, Mr Loyiso Ceza, Mr Nkateko Shingane, 

Next row: Miss Refiloe Malao, Mr Marcio Agulhas, Mr AL JURREAU JEKELS, Mr Connor Blewett, Mr Bongani Pandela, Mr Yamkela Mqhele, DR SHAWN GOUWS

Next row:Miss Asanda Dlabom, Mr Bathabile Ntshona, Miss Nobuhle Jali, Miss Asavela Nkqayi

Front row: Miss Vuyina Robiyana, Miss Zimkita Mbete, Miss Thembela Kwini, Miss Sibahle Kondolo, Ms Asithandile Lamani.

Congratulations to all who worked so hard to make the 2018 Graduation a success for our students.